Minneapolis' Stone Arch Bridge, which crosses the Mississippi River at St. Anthony Falls, is the only stone bridge ever built along the entire length of the Mississippi and a graceful landmark representing the importance of the river in the development of the city of Minneapolis.
Built in 1883 for James J. Hill's railroad, its sweeping curve around the falls gives it a unique visual drama. When the Upper St. Anthony Lock was built in 1963, two of the stone arches were replaced with steel trusses to facilitate river navigation.
Today it is a pedestrian and biking bridge and an integral part of the Minneapolis Riverfront District, Mill Ruins Park and St. Anthony Falls Heritage Trail. It offers spectacular views of the falls, the historic milling district, the Guthrie Theater and the Minneapolis skyline. Every June it gives its name to the Stone Arch Festival of the Arts, which takes place on the St. Anthony Main side of the river in NE Minneapolis on Father's Day weekend.